Illinois State places eight on All-MVFC first team

Illinois State placed eight players on the Missouri Valley Football Conference first team announced Monday.

Quarterback Matt Brown, who was named the MVFC's offensive player of the year last week, led the Illinois State contingent. The others were fullback Jordan Neukirch, wide receiver Tyrone Walker, offensive lineman Pete Cary, defensive linemen Shelby Harris and Colton Underwood, linebacker Mike Zimmer and defensive back Ben Ericksen.

Illinois State (8-3) will play an FCS second-round playoff game at Appalachian State on Saturday.

Indiana State and defending FCS national champion North Dakota State both had five selections on the all-conference first team.

All-MVFC Football First Team

(Selected by coaches, sports information directors and media panel)


QB - Matt Brown, Illinois State, Sr.

RB - Shakir Bell, Indiana State, Jr.

RB - Zach Zenner, South Dakota State, So.

FB - Jordan Neukirch, Illinois State, Jr.

WR - Dorian Buford, Missouri State, Jr.

WR - Tyrone Walker, Illinois State, Sr.

TE - MyCole Pruitt, Southern Illinois, So.

OL - Pete Cary, Illinois State, Sr.

OL - Chris Elkins, Youngstown State, Jr.

OL - Joe Lund, North Dakota State, Sr.

OL - Billy Turner, North Dakota State, Jr.

OL - Bryan Witzmann, South Dakota State, Jr.


DL - Ken Boatright, Southern Illinois, Sr.

DL - Shelby Harris, Illinois State, Jr.

DL - Ben Obaseki, Indiana State, Sr.

DL - Colton Underwood, Illinois State, Jr.

LB - Aaron Archie, Indiana State, Sr.

LB - Grant Olson, North Dakota State, Jr.

LB - Ross Shafrath, South Dakota State, Sr.

LB - Mike Zimmer, Illinois State, Sr.

DB - Ben Ericksen, Illinois State, Sr.

DB - Caleb Schaffitzel, Missouri State, So.

DB - Johnny Towalid, Indiana State, Sr.

DB - Marcus Williams, North Dakota State, Jr.

Special Teams

PK - Adam Keller, North Dakota State, So.

P - Lucas Hileman, Indiana State, Sr.

RS - Carlos Anderson, Northern Iowa, Sr.