Elko, Pough headline All-MEAC awards

Delaware State quarterback Nick Elko and Howard linebacker Keith Pough have been selected as the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference's offensive and defensive players of the year, respectively.

Elko, a redshirt senior, led the MEAC in passing yards (2,828), passing yards per game (257.1), completions (259) and pass attempts (412). He also threw for 15 touchdowns against only five interceptions.

Pough, also a redshirt senior, averaged 7.2 tackles per game and collected 10 tackles for loss and 3.5 sacks. He became the career leader in tackles for loss in the Football Championship Subdvision with 72.

Bethune-Cookman's Terrance Hackney was named the MEAC's offensive lineman of the year and Brian Jenkins the coach of the year, while Howard's Damon Greshman Chisholm earned the rookie of the year honor.

All-MEAC First Team


QB - Nick Elko, R-Sr., Delaware State

RB - Isidore Jackson, R-Sr., Bethune-Cookman

RB - Jeremiah Schwartz, Sr., Hampton

TE - Joseph Hawkins, Jr., Norfolk State

WR - Tarvis Tarpley, R-Jr., Delaware State

WR - Justin Wilson, R-Jr., Delaware State

WR - Travis Harvey, R-Sr., Florida A&M

OL - Terrance Hackney, Jr., Bethune-Cookman

OL - William Robinson, R-So., North Carolina A&T

OL - Joshua Matthews, So., Howard

OL - Nail Muradymov, R-Jr., Delaware State

C - Eugene Solomon, R-Sr., Bethune-Cookman


DL - LeBrandon Richardson, Jr., Bethune-Cookman

DL - Lyden Trail, R-So., Norfolk State

DL - Stephen Young, Sr., North Carolina Central

DL - Damon Greshham Chisholm, Fr., Howard

LB - Keith Pough, R-Sr., Howard

LB - Jarkevis Fields, R-Jr., Bethune-Cookman

LB - Ernest Adjei, Sr., Delaware State

DB - Nick Addison, Jr., Bethune-Cookman

DB - Davon Moore, So., Delaware State

DB - D'Vonte Graham, Jr., North Carolina A&T

DB - Julien David, Jr., Howard

Special Teams

P - Dylan Shaddix, Jr., Norfolk State

P/K - Chase Varnadore, R-So., Florida A&M

Return - Arthur Goforth, Sr., North Carolina Central.