Brown, Williams, Kollmorgen, Bohl collect Missouri Valley honors

Illinois State quarterback Matt Brown and North Dakota State cornerback Marcus Williams were named the Missouri Valley Football Conference's offensive and defensive players of the year, respectively, on Wednesday.

Brown, who has led Illinois State to an 8-3 record and an FCS playoff berth, became just the Redbird to win offensive player of the year honors. During the regular season, the senior led the conference in passing yards (2,676) and total offense (2,789 yards). He finished the regular season with 20 touchdown passes and six touchdowns on the ground. In a two-overtime victory against Eastern Illinois, he accounted for seven touchdowns.

Williams, a Buck Buchanan Award candidate, started just 10 games in the regular season, but had four interceptions for 125 yards. He ranks second all- time in school history with 15 career interceptions, just one shy of the record of 16. He's equally dangerous as a return specialist, returning 11 kickoffs for 331 yards - including a 98-yard return for a touchdown versus Illinois State on Nov. 17 - and three punt returns for 74 yards.

Illinois State and North Dakota State will continue their seasons in the playoffs.

Northern Iowa quarterback Sawyer Kollmorgen swept the conference's freshman and newcomer of the year awards, while North Dakota State's Craig Bohl took home coach of the year honors.

Kollmorgen threw for 21 touchdowns and 2,460 yards, starting every game for the Panthers.

Bohl led North Dakota State to the MVFC title and the No. 1 overall seed in the FCS playoffs. The Bison are top-ranked in The Sports Network FCS Top 25.

The full All-MVFC teams will be announced Monday.