Logano on pole for Kansas Nationwide race

Joey Logano will start on the pole for Saturday's Kansas Lottery 300 after setting a new track qualifying record for a Nationwide Series race at the newly repaved Kansas Speedway.

Logano, who is a Sprint Cup Series regular, turned a lap at 182.914 mph for his fifth pole of the season and the 21st of his Nationwide career. It's also his second pole at this 1.5-mile racetrack. The Joe Gibbs Racing driver has won a season-high eight Nationwide races, including a victory in last weekend's event at Charlotte. He has two wins at Kansas (2009 and '10).

Rookie Austin Dillon will share the front row with Logano after posting a lap at 182.716 mph. Brian Scott qualified third, followed by Kenny Wallace and Paul Menard.

Kyle Busch, Elliott Sadler, the current points leader, Cole Whitt, Johanna Long and Ricky Stenhouse Jr., the defending Nationwide champion, completed the top-10.

The top-11 finishers in qualifying topped the previous track record of 178.938 mph, set by Martin Truex Jr. in Oct. 2005.

Danica Patrick will start 13th.

Sadler holds a 13-point lead over Stenhouse and a 29-point advantage over Dillon with just four races to go.

Josh Wise was the only driver who failed to qualify for the 300-mile race at Kansas, which is scheduled to start just after 3:30 p.m. (ET).