Nats keep 12 pitchers for NLDS

Washington, DC ( - The Washington Nationals finalized their roster for the National League Division Series against San Francisco and will keep 12 pitchers, including deposed closer Rafael Soriano.

Soriano had 32 saves this season, but struggled in September and lost his job to Drew Storen. Still, the veteran right-hander will be part of a bullpen that also includes lefties Matt Thornton and Jerry Blevins, and right-handers Tyler Clippard, Craig Stammen, Aaron Barrett and Tanner Roark.

Roark had been part of Washington's rotation, but the club will use Stephen Strasburg, Jordan Zimmermann, Doug Fister and likely Gio Gonzalez as starters for the best-of-five set.

Infielder Ryan Zimmerman, who missed time this season with a thumb injury and most recently a hamstring issue, will likely fill a bench role. The other infielders on the roster will be first baseman Adam LaRoche, second baseman Asdrubal Cabrera, shortstop Ian Desmond, third baseman Anthony Rendon, Kevin Frandsen and Danny Espinosa.

Bryce Harper, Denard Span and Jayson Werth will be the starting outfielders, while Nate Schierholtz will come off the bench as a lefty pinch-hitter.

The catchers will be Wilson Ramos and Jose Lobaton.