Kohlschreiber moves on in Shanghai

Philipp Kohlschreiber, Martin Klizan and Fernando Verdasco were first-round winners Sunday at the Shanghai Masters, the eighth of nine ATP Masters events this year.

The 16th-seeded Kohlschreiber of Germany beat American Ryan Harrison 6-4, 6-4 on the hardcourts at Qizhong Tennis Center.

Klizan of Slovakia defeated Thomaz Bellucci of Brazil by a 6-3, 6-4 margin, while Verdasco of Spain took down Go Soeda of Japan 6-2, 6-4.

British star Andy Murray captured his second straight Shanghai title by beating Spaniard David Ferrer in last year's finale. The top seeds this year are 2010 runner-up Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic and Murray.

The 2012 Shanghai champion will collect $669,450.