MLB announces 2012 Division Series umpires

Major League Baseball has announced its umpiring crews for the upcoming Division Series matchups, as well as the wild card games for Friday.

Jeff Kellogg will be the crew chief and the home plate umpire for the National League wild card matchup between the St. Louis Cardinals and Atlanta Braves. Mike Winters will be at first base, Gary Cederstrom will be at second and Jeff Nelson will handle third. Sam Holbrook will be along the left field line and Rob Drake will be stationed in right.

Gary Darling has been selected to lead the crew and umpire behind home plate for the AL wild card game between the Baltimore Orioles and Texas Rangers. The first base umpire will be Jerry Layne, while Ted Barrett will call plays at second and Bill Miller at third. Greg Gibson will take the left field line and Chris Guccione will be in right.

Dana DeMuth is the crew chief for the American League Division Series between the Detroit Tigers and Oakland Athletics, which starts Saturday in Detroit. DeMuth will be joined by Jim Reynolds, who will open the series behind the plate, Mark Wegner, Eric Cooper, Wally Bell and Scott Barry.

Brian Gorman will lead the crew for the other ALDS between the New York Yankees and the winner of the wild card game. Tony Randazzo, Angel Hernandez, Fieldin Culbreth, Mike Everitt and Mark Carlson will join Gorman.

Gerry Davis will be the crew chief for the National League Division Series featuring the Cincinnati Reds and San Francisco Giants. The rest of the crew includes Phil Cuzzi, who will call balls and strikes in Saturday's opener, Brian O'Nora, Dan Iassogna, Tom Hallion and Chad Fairchild.

Joe West will handle the crew for the NLDS between the Washington Nationals and the wild card winner. West's charges include Paul Emmel, Marvin Hudson, Jim Joyce, Alfonso Marquez and Ed Hickox.