Michael Hoey of Northern Ireland has been disqualified from the PGA Championship.
Hoey had one of only five rounds under par Friday at Kiawah, and he was to go into the weekend of the final major eight shots out of the lead. But only after he signed for a 2-under 70 did he realize he failed to re-create his lie on the ninth hole after removing his ball from an embedded lie to make sure it was his.
Hoey wiped away sand on the ninth hole. His mistake was not replacing the sand on his ball.
He was disqualified for not including the two-shot penalty, and thus signing an incorrect scorecard. Hoey is the one who brought the oversight to the attention of rules officials.