Kahne takes pole for Nationwide race at Indy

Kasey Kahne will start on the pole for Saturday's inaugural Nationwide Series race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway after posting the fastest lap in qualifying.

Kahne, a Sprint Cup Series regular, turned a lap at 176.284 mph for his ninth career Nationwide pole. Kyle Busch earned the outside pole with a lap at 176.039 mph. Kahne and Busch were the only drivers who topped the 176 mph mark.

Ty Dillon, a full-time competitor in the Camping World Truck Series, qualified third. Dillon is making just his second Nationwide start.

Denny Hamlin will start fourth, followed by Elliott Sadler, the current points leader and last weekend's race winner at Chicagoland Speedway. Joey Logano, rookie Austin Dillon, Brad Keselowski, Paul Menard and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. will roll off sixth through 10th, respectively.

Danica Patrick will start 20th in what will be her first stock car race at this famed 2.5-mile racetrack. Patrick had competed in the Indianapolis 500 each year from 2005-2011.

Mike Harmon and Morgan Shepherd failed to qualify for the 250-mile race, which is scheduled to start just after 4:30 p.m. (ET).