Evans, West are CAA preseason players of year

Towson sophomore running back Terrance West was named CAA Football's preseason offensive player of the year Wednesday, leading the conference's defending champion and 2012 favorite.

New Hampshire senior linebacker Matt Evans was named the preseason defensive player of the year.

Last season, West was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Jerry Rice Award, which honors the FCS freshman of the year, and Evans was the Buck Buchanan Award recipient, honored as the national defensive player of the year.

Towson, following its first-ever CAA championship in 2011, topped the conference's preseason poll, followed by Old Dominion, which is in its final year in the conference and the FCS before joining Conference USA on the FBS level next year.


(Head Coaches and Sports Information Directors)

1. Towson, 12 first-place votes

2. Old Dominion, 7

3. James Madison, 1

4. New Hampshire, 2

5. Delaware

6. Maine

7. William & Mary

8. Villanova

9. Richmond

10. Rhode Island

11. Georgia State


Offensive Player of the Year - Terrance West, RB, Towson

Defensive Player of the Year - Matt Evans, LB, New Hampshire


QB - Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion, So.

RB - Andrew Pierce, Delaware, Jr.

RB - Terrance West, Towson, So.

FB - Brian Barlow, James Madison, Sr.

WR - Nick Mayers, Old Dominion, Sr.

WR - Maurice McDonald, Maine, Sr.

WR - Nihja White, Delaware, Sr.

TE - Justin Perillo, Maine, Jr.

OL - Ricky Archer, New Hampshire, Jr.

OL - Chris Howley, Maine, Sr.

OL - Dan Shirey, Villanova, Sr.

OL - Josh Spearin, Maine, Sr.

OL - Earl Watford, James Madison, Sr.


DL - Frank Beltre, Towson, Sr.

DL - Chris Burnette, Old Dominion, Sr.

DL - Michael Cole, Maine, Jr.

DL - Antoine Lewis, Villanova, Jr.

LB - Matt Evans, New Hampshire, Sr.

LB - Darius McMillan, Richmond, Sr.

LB - Stephon Robertson, James Madison, Jr.

LB - Craig Wilkins, Old Dominion, Sr.

LB - Paul Worrilow, Delaware, Sr.

S - Jordan Dangerfield, Towson, Sr.

S - Brian Thompson, William & Mary, Sr.

CB - Travis Hawkins, Delaware, Jr.

CB - B.W. Webb, William & Mary, Sr.

Special Teams

PK - Sean Baner, Delaware, Jr.

P - Jonathan Plisco, Old Dominion, Sr.

RS - Dae'Quan Scott, James Madison, Jr.