Sam Houston State headlines All-Southland preseason teams

Defending Southland Conference champion Sam Houston State returns a significant amount of decorated players this season, but the Bearkats have company.

Sam Houston State led the Southland with 19 players on the conference preseason teams announced Tuesday, including 11 on the first team.

A total of 35 of the 52 players who earned all-conference honors after the 2011 season are back this season, each earning spots on the preseason teams,

Sam Houston State's returnees include juniors Tim Flanders and Richard Sincere, the Southland player of the year and offensive player of the year, respectively, and Darnell Taylor, the reigning defensive player of the year.

Last season, the Bearkats went 7-0 in Southland games and finished 14-1 overall, losing in the FCS national championship game to North Dakota State.

Stephen F. Austin's preseason honorees included Willie Jefferson, the Southland newcomer of the year last season.

2012 Preseason All-Southland Conference Football Teams

First-Team Offense

QB - Brian Bell, Sam Houston State, Jr.

RB - Timothy Flanders, Sam Houston State, Jr.

RB - Jackie Hinton, Central Arkansas, Sr.

FB/HB - Richard Sincere, Sam Houston State, Jr.

WR - Cordell Roberson, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.

WR - Gralyn Crawford, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.

TE - Nick Scelfo, Nicholls State, So.

OL - Dominique Allen, Central Arkansas, Jr.

OL - Alec Savoie, McNeese State, Sr.

OL - Kaleb Hopson, Sam Houston State, Sr.

OL - Larry Calcote, Northwestern State, Sr.

OL - Dan Jenkins, Sam Houston State, Sr.

First-Team Defense

DL - J.T. Cleveland, Sam Houston State, Sr.

DL - Willie Jefferson, Stephen F. Austin, Jr.

DL - Andrew Weaver, Sam Houston State, Jr.

DL - Gary Lorance, Sam Houston State, Jr.

LB - Seth Allison, Central Arkansas, Sr.

LB - Derek Rose, Northwestern State, Sr.

DB - Darnell Taylor, Sam Houston State, Sr.

DB - Malcolm Bronson, McNeese State, Sr.

DB - Kenneth Jenkins, Sam Houston State ,Sr.

DB - Dax Swanson, Sam Houston State, Sr.

DB - Jamaal White, Northwestern State, Sr.

First-Team Special Teams

PK - John Shaughnessy, Northwestern State, Sr.

P - Cory Kemps, Nicholls State, Sr.

RS - Gralyn Crawford, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.

Second-Team Offense

QB - Brady Attaway, Stephen F. Austin, Jr.

RB - Marcus Washington, Nicholls State, Jr.

RB - Jesse Turner, Nicholls State, Sr.

FB/HB - Mike Brooks, Stephen F. Austin, Jr.

WR - Jesse Grandy, Central Arkansas, Sr.

WR - Dominique Croom, Central Arkansas, Sr.

TE - T.J. Jones, Sam Houston State, Sr.

OL - Jonathan Landry, McNeese State, Jr.

OL - Matt Boyles, Sam Houston State, Jr.

OL - John Steel, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.

OL - Miguel Gauthreaux, McNeese State, Sr.

OL - Corey Howard, Central Arkansas, Sr.

Second-Team Defense

DL - Malcolm Mattox, Stephen F. Austin, Jr.

DL - Preston Sanders, Sam Houston State, Jr.

DL - Pat Williams, McNeese State, Sr.

DL - Matt Hornbuckle, Central Arkansas, Jr.

LB - Ryan Epperson, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.

LB - Darius Taylor, Sam Houston State, Sr.

DB - Robert Alford, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.

DB - Bookie Sneed, Sam Houston State, Jr. Conroe, Texas

DB - Jestin Love, Central Arkansas, Jr.

DB - Robert Shaw, Sam Houston State, Sr.

DB - Josh Aubrey, Stephen F. Austin, Jr.

Second-Team Special Teams

PK - Eddie Camara, Central Arkansas, So.

P - Matt Foster, Sam Houston State, Sr.

RS - Darius Carey, McNeese State, Sr.