MLS teams learn Champions League opponents

Five MLS teams learned their opponents for the 2012-13 CONCACAF Champions League on Tuesday, when the draw for the tournament was held.

The Houston Dynamo, the Los Angeles Galaxy, Real Salt Lake, Seattle Sounders FC and Toronto FC were all placed in different groups. The tournament switched to a three-team, eight-group format for the upcoming event.

Houston was drawn with Honduras' Olimpia and El Salvador's FAS. L.A. will play El Salvador's Isidro Metapan and a Caribbean team yet to be determined. RSL is set to play Costa Rica's Herediano and Panama's Tauro. Seattle was paired with Honduras' Marathon and a Caribbean qualifier yet to be decided. TFC was paired with Mexico's Santos and El Salvador's Aguila.

The event starts July 31, and the first-place squad in each group advances to the knockout stage. Knockout play starts in early March, with the second match of the two-legged final set for May 1.

Following are all eight groups:

Group 1: Aguila (El Salvador), Santos (Mexico), Toronto FC (Canada).

Group 2: Herediano (Costa Rica), Real Salt Lake (USA), Tauro (Panama).

Group 3: FAS (El Salvador), Houston Dynamo (USA), Olimpia (Honduras).

Group 4: Marathon (Honduras), Seattle Sounders FC (USA), TBD (Caribbean).

Group 5: Los Angeles Galaxy (USA), Metapan (El Salvador), TBD (Caribbean).

Group 6: Alajuelense (Costa Rica), Real Esteli (Nicaragua), Tigres (Mexico).

Group 7: Chorillo (Panama), Monterrey (Mexico), Municipal (Guatemala).

Group 8: Guadalajara (Mexico), Xelaju (Guatemala), TBD (Caribbean).