Florida gets top seed for NCAA baseball tourney

Florida has been selected as the top overall seed for the 2012 NCAA Division I baseball championship.

The 64-team tournament starts on Friday with 16 regionals featuring four teams apiece in a double-elimination format. Those 16 survivors are then paired off for eight best-of-three super regionals before the last eight teams earn trips to the College World Series, which starts June 15 in Omaha, Nebraska.

UCLA, Florida State, Baylor, Oregon, North Carolina, LSU and South Carolina join Florida as the top seeds. South Carolina is the reigning champions as the school has won the past two titles.

The SEC has eight schools in the field to lead all conferences while the ACC has seven. The Pac-12 sent five schools to the tournament while the Big-12 and C-USA each sent four.

Making it to the tourney for the first time are Dayton and Samford while Miami-Florida again earned a berth, extending an NCAA record with its 40th straight appearance. Florida State is in the field for a 35th consecutive year.

A total of 37 of the 64 teams made the tournament last year.