NNS: Logano Wins Charlotte Pole

On a hot midday at Charlotte Motor Speedway, Joey Logano was the hottest driver.

Logano won the pole Saturday morning for Saturday afternoon’s History 300 Nationwide Series race at CMS with a speed of 179.063 miles per hour. The Joe Gibbs Racing driver was the only qualifier above the 179 mark during a blisteringly hot time-trial session.

Austin Dillon rolled in second at 178.968 miles per hour late in the session after Logano had knocked Danica Patrick from the provisional pole. Patrick will start third after running 178.932 mph.

Completing the top five were series point leader and defending champion Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Penske Racing’s Sam Hornish Jr.

In the second five are Elliott Sadler, Kevin Harvick, James Buescher, Brian Scott and Brad Keselowski.

Joey Coulter spun out on his second qualifying lap but will start 21st on the grid.

Mike Hembree is NASCAR Editor for and has been covering motorsports for 30 years. He is a six-time winner of the National Motorsports Press Association Writer of the Year Award.