CUP: Biffle Seeks First Win At Bristol

Among the oddities of Greg Biffle’s NASCAR career is the fact that he has never won a Sprint Cup short-track race.

Biffle won the Camping World Truck Series championship in 2000 and the Nationwide title in 2002 and has been a successful driver – though never a champion – in Sprint Cup, running full time in NASCAR’s top series since 2003. He has 16 Cup wins – all on tracks at least one mile in length.

Sunday will provide a golden opportunity to change that statistical anomaly.

Biffle is scheduled to start on the pole in Sunday’s Food City 500 at Bristol Motor Speedway. He has had an excellent car all weekend, has posted strong numbers during practices and seems to be the class of the 43-car field.

It’s a long race, of course, and Biffle probably would be satisfied to last through the afternoon and leave eastern Tennessee with a top 10 (or maybe a third, the position he’s scored in all three Sprint Cup races to date).

“It would be big for us to win here, especially with the way the season has started with three thirds,” Biffle said. “I have been so close to winning here. I can’t tell you how many times I have been that close to winning here. We have always been just a tick off. A couple of cars have always been better than us.

“Hopefully, this Sunday we will have the right setup under the car and will be able to turn in the center like we need to late in the race and have grip up off. That is where they have beat me a little bit. I have finished second, third, fourth, all over. I haven’t been able to quite catch them, but hopefully this weekend.”

Biffle has a third, three fourths and two fifths at Bristol.

Starting behind Biffle in Sunday’s 1:10 p.m. (12:30 p.m. television start on FOX) race will be AJ Allmendinger, Ryan Newman, Jeff Gordon and Brad Keselowski.

Weather forecasts call for an 80 percent chance of rain in the Bristol area Sunday.

Mike Hembree is NASCAR Editor for and has been covering motorsports for 30 years. He is a six-time winner of the National Motorsports Press Association Writer of the Year Award.