Menu

FCS

Delaware State will play Cincinnati in 2012

Visits to the University of Cincinnati and the University of Delaware help highlight Delaware State's 2012 football schedule.

The Hornets are coming off a 3-8 season in Kermit Blount's first year as head coach.

They will play five home games, beginning with the season opener against VMI on Sept. 1.

Next up, the Hornets will travel upstate to Newark to take on the Delaware Blue Hens on Sept. 8. The Hornets have yet to win in three all-time meetings.

Delaware State will then play Cincinnati for the first time when it travels to the Big East school on Sept. 15.

The Hornets' final eight games will be within the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference. Included are home games against Florida A&M (Sept. 22), South Carolina State (Oct. 13), North Carolina A&T (Oct. 20) and Hampton (Nov. 10).

The Hornets also will play road conference games at 2011 MEAC champ Norfolk State (Oct. 6), Morgan State (Oct. 27), North Carolina Central (Nov. 3) and Howard (Nov. 17).

They will not play Bethune-Cookman and Savannah State in the 11-team MEAC.

Saturday, Sept. 1, VMI, Dover, Del.

Saturday, Sept. 8, at Delaware, Newark, Del.

Saturday, Sept. 15, at Cincinnati, Cincinnati

Saturday, Sept. 22, FLORIDA A&M*, Dover, Del.

Saturday, Oct. 6, at Norfolk State*, Norfolk, Va.

Saturday, Oct. 13, SOUTH CAROLINA STATE*, Dover, Del.

Saturday, Oct. 20, NORTH CAROLINA A&T*, Dover, Del.

Saturday, Oct. 27, at Morgan State*, at Baltimore

Saturday, Nov. 3, at North Carolna Central*, Durham, N.C.

Saturday, Nov. 10, HAMPTON*, Dover, Del.

Saturday, Nov. 17, at Howard*, Washington, D.C.

* - MEAC game