Sign in to comment!



Breitenstein, Russell honored in SoCon

The Southern Conference Sports Media Association named Wofford junior fullback Eric Breitenstein its offensive player of the year and Georgia Southern junior nose tackle Brent Russell its defensive player of the year on Wednesday.

Chattanooga quarterback Terrell Robinson earned the freshman of the year award and Georgia Southern's Jeff Monken was named the coach of the year.

The All-SoCon coaches awards were announced Tuesday.

2011 All-SoCon Media First Team


QB- Chris Forcier, Sr., Furman

RB- Jerodis Williams, Jr., Furman

RB- Eric Breitenstein, Jr., Wofford

OL- Orry Frye, Sr., Appalachian State

OL- Ryan Lee, Sr., Furman

OL- Brett Moore, Sr., Georgia Southern

OL- William Maxwell, Sr., Georgia Southern

OL- Nate Page, Sr., Wofford

TE- Colin Anderson, Jr., Furman

WR- Brian Quick, Sr., Appalachian State

WR- Aaron Mellette, Jr., Elon


DL- Derek Douglas, So., The Citadel

DL- Brent Russell, Jr., Georgia Southern

DL- Josh Williams, Jr., Chattanooga

DL- Alex Goltry, Sr., Wofford

LB- Joshua Jones, Sr., Elon

LB- Kadarron Anderson, Sr., Furman

LB- Alvin Scioneaux, So., Wofford

DB- Demetrius McCray, Jr., Appalachian State

DB- Ryan Steed, Sr., Furman

DB- Laron Scott, Sr., Georgia Southern

DB- Corey White, Sr., Samford


PK- Adrian Mora, Sr., Georgia Southern

P- Cass Couey, Jr., The Citadel

RS- Laron Scott, Sr., Georgia Southern