Mayhew, Walley, Davis headline All-MEAC team

North Carolina A&T running back Mike Mayhew and Eastern Athletic offensive players of the year and Bethune-Cookman defensive lineman Ryan Davis earned the defensive player of the year honor on Tuesday.

Howard quarterback Greg McGhee earned the rookie of the year award and Norfolk State's Blake Matthews was selected as the offensive lineman of the year.

Pete Adrian of MEAC champion Norfolk State was named the coach of the year.

2011 All-MEAC Football First Team

(as voted on by the head coaches and sports information directors)


Position, Name, Class, School, Hometown

QB- Chris Walley, R-Sr., Norfolk State, Tallahassee, Fla.

RB- Isidore Jackson, R-So., Bethune-Cookman, Mossy Head, Fla.

RB- Mike Mayhew, Sr., North Carolina A&T, Charlotte, N.C.

TE- Lamont Bryant, Sr., Morgan State, Newport News, Va.

WR- Willie Carter, Sr., Howard Denmark, S.C.

WR- Xavier Boyce, R-Jr., Norfolk State, Virginia Beach, Va.

OL- Kendall Noble, R-Sr., Norfolk State, Rocky Mount, N.C.

OL- Steven Robinson, R-Sr., Florida A&M, Tallahassee, Fla.

OL- Corey Gwinner, R-Sr., Howard, Ypsilanti, Mich.

OL- Blake Matthews, R-Sr., Norfolk State, Manassas, Va.

C- Shelly Anthony, R-So., Florida A&M, Atlanta


DL- Ryan Davis, Sr., Bethune-Cookman, Tampa, Fla.

DL- Sackie Kerkulah, R-Sr., Howard, Willingboro, N.J.

DL- Josh Turner, R-Sr., Norfolk State, Chesterfield, Va.

DL- Pat Washington, R-Sr., South Carolina State, Hollywood, S.C.

LB- Keith Pough, R-Jr., Howard, Orangeburg, S.C.

LB- Corwin Hammond, R-Sr., Norfolk State, Louisville, Ky.

LB- Donovan Richard, R-Sr., South Carolina State, Georgetown, S.C.

DB- John Ojo, Jr., Florida A&M, Tallahassee, Fla.

DB- Micah Pellerin, Sr., Hampton, New Orleans

DB- Justin Ferrell, Sr., North Carolina A&T, Danville, Va.

DB- Dominique Ellis, R-Sr., South Carolina State, Union City, Ga.

P- Branden Holdren, Jr., Florida A&M, Jacksonville, Fla.

PK- Ryan Estep, R-Sr., Norfolk State, Chesapeake, Va.

Return- Edmond Baker, R-Jr., Florida A&M, Miami