Sign in to comment!



Rodgers, Kiwanuka, Peterson named NFC players of the week

Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers, Giants linebacker Mathias Kiwanuka and Cardinals cornerback Patrick Peterson have been honored as the NFC's top players for Week 9 of the NFL season.

Rodgers earned his third offensive player of the week award this season by completing 21-of-26 passes for 247 yards and four touchdowns in Green Bay's 45-38 victory over San Diego. He also added 52 rushing yards as the Packers became just the third defending Super Bowl champions to start the following season 8-0.

Kiwanuka took home his second career defensive award by recording 12 tackles and an interception in the Giants' 24-20 win over the New England Patriots. The win by New York snapped New England's 20-game regular season home winning streak, as well as Patriots quarterback Tom Brady's personal 31-game home winning streak.

Peterson earned the special teams player of the week honor with his game- winning 99-yard punt return touchdown in overtime. It gave the Cardinals a 19-13 victory over the St. Louis Rams, and it was the rookie's third punt return for a touchdown this season, tying him for fourth-most in a single season in NFL history. It also tied him with Chicago's Devin Hester for second-most among rookies all-time.

Others considered for the offensive award included San Francisco's Frank Gore, who rushed for 107 yards in the 49ers' 19-11 win over Washington; Chicago's Earl Bennett, who had five catches for 95 yards and a touchdown in the Bears' 30-24 victory over Philadelphia; Atlanta's Julio Jones, who caught three balls for 131 yards and two touchdowns in the Falcons' 31-7 win in Indianapolis; and the Giants' Eli Manning, who threw for 250 yards and two touchdowns.

Defensive nominees included Giants linebacker Michael Boley, who had 10 tackles, a sack and a forced fumble; Packers' safety Charlie Peprah, who had six tackles and two interceptions, including a 40-yard touchdown; and 49ers linebacker Patrick Willis, who had 13 tackles and a forced fumble.

San Francisco kicker David Akers was considered for the special teams award for converting on field goals of 52, 34, 45 and 20 yards.