MLB announces league championship series umpiring crews

Major League Baseball named the two umpiring crews that will work the League Championship Series on Friday.

Tim Welke, a 28-year major league umpire will be the crew chief for the 2011 American League Championship Series between the Detroit Tigers and the Texas Rangers, beginning on Saturday October 8 at Rangers Ballpark in Arlington.

Welke, who has 17 career postseason assignments, will work with Larry Vanover, Jim Wolf, Fieldin Culbreth, Jeff Nelson and regular season crew chief Tom Hallion.

Welke will be behind the plate for Game 1 of the AlCS, with Vanover at first, Wolf at second, Culbreth at third, Nelson in left field and Hallion in right field.

Gary Darling, a 25-year veteran who has 14 postseason assignments under his belt, will serve as crew chief for the 2011 National League Championship Series, which will begin on Sunday.

Darling will work with Tim Timmons, Sam Holbrook, Mike Everitt, Bill Miller and regular season crew chief Mike Winters. Darling will be behind the plate for Game 1, with Timmons at first, Holbrook at second, Everitt at third, Miller in left field and Winters in right field.