CUP: Kyle Busch Had Power In Three Series has selected NASCAR’s top 10 drivers — across the three major national series — in 2010 and will spotlight them for two weeks. Today: Driver No. 2 — Triple-threat Kyle Busch.

Kyle Busch bounced from series to series with wild abandon in 2010, piling up victories in each one and being a dominant force at times.

Busch didn’t win a driving championship in any of NASCAR’s top three series (in fact, he didn’t pursue titles in the Nationwide and Camping World Truck series), but he totaled 24 victories across Sprint Cup, Nationwide and Truck and accomplished an unprecedented sweep of all three series races in one weekend at Bristol Motor Speedway.

There are other imposing numbers from Busch’s 2010 run.

He scored 13 Nationwide wins, breaking the single-season record of 10 he shared with Sam Ard. He won half — yes, half — of the 16 Truck races he entered.

He finished third in the Nationwide Series point standings despite missing six of the season’s races. He finished in the top 10 in 25 of his 29 outings, a remarkably consistent performance. His strong Nationwide runs were the key in Joe Gibbs Racing winning the series' owner championship.

Busch’s excellent Nationwide season puts him in prime position to shoot down one of the sport’s major records in 2011. He is only six wins short of breaking Mark Martin’s career victories record of 48 in NASCAR’s No. 2 series.

Busch’s new Kyle Busch Motorsports Truck team won that series’ owner championship. As a driver, Busch won eight races and six poles and had 14 top 10s in 16 races. He won six of the final 10 events.

In Sprint Cup, Busch finished eighth in points as he had sour numbers over the final weeks of the Chase.

He won at Richmond, Dover and Bristol, dominating those three races. He had second-place runs at Pocono, Richmond and Charlotte.

The Cup points finish was Busch’s best since 2007, his last season at Hendrick Motorsports.

Mike Hembree is NASCAR Editor for and has been covering motorsports for 28 years. He has written several books on NASCAR, including "NASCAR: The Definitive History of America's Sport" and "Then Tony Said To Junior: The Best NASCAR Stories Ever Told". He is a six-time winner of the National Motorsports Press Association Writer of the Year Award.