TRUCKS: Hensley To Crew Chief For Hornaday

Ron Hornaday Jr.’s own Drive For Five will begin with a new leader atop the pit box for his No. 33 Kevin Harvick Inc. Chevrolet Silverado.

Longtime NASCAR Camping World Truck Series veteran Jeff Hensley has been hired by KHI to serve as Hornaday’s crew chief.

“We are proud to welcome Jeff to KHI and to be able to pair him with Ron Hornaday,” said KHI co-owner Kevin Harvick. “Jeff brings with him a wealth of experience and knowledge which we think will be beneficial to not only the No. 33 team and Ron but the organization as a whole.”

“I am thrilled to be a part of KHI and really excited to get to work,” said Hensley. “Ron is a tough competitor and we have a record fifth career championship that we are focused on for 2011.”

In 2009, Hornaday won his fourth Truck Series championship, but last year a variety of problems resulted in him finishing seventh in points, matching his career-low for a full Truck Series season.

Hornaday and Hensley will look to return the team to its championship form in 2011. Dave Fuge began 2010 as Hornaday’s crew chief but was released after just one race and replaced by Doug George. The team made another change in mid-season, when George was replaced with Kevin Buskirk in late July.

Hensley, 48, a native of Ridgeway, Va., has been racing for the last three decades. In 1985 Hensley became crew chief for his family-owned team Hensley Motorsports. With driver Chuck Bown, Hensley captured the 1990 NASCAR Nationwide Series championship.

His Truck Series resume includes two-and-a-half seasons as Mike Skinner’s crew chief at Bill Davis Racing and a stint as competition director at Bobby Hamilton Racing-Virginia. He also was crew chief at Xpress Motorsports and most recently was crew chief for Timothy Peters at Red Horse Racing.

Tom Jensen is the Editor in Chief of, Senior NASCAR Editor at RACER and a contributing Editor for You can follow him online at and e-mail him at Jensen is the author of “Cheating: The Bad Things Good NASCAR Nextel Cup Racers Do In Pursuit of Speed,” and has appeared on numerous television and radio shows. Jensen is the past President of the National Motorsports Press Association and an NMPA Writer of the Year.