SPEED – Temper, Temper: Kyle Busch, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

Kyle Busch doesn’t take losing lightly. In fact, he’d be the first to tell you that in NASCAR, there’s one winner every race and 42 losers.

During the 2010 season, Busch won a total of 24 races in NASCAR’s top three divisions, the most ever by one driver in NASCAR’s modern era. For better or for worse, though, Busch made headlines as often when he lost as he did when he won.

Busch’s fiery personality and his overwhelming desire to win frequently resulted in him clashing with others. With teammates, with competitors, with NASCAR officials and even the media. Busch had a burning desire to win every time he strapped into the seat of a race car, and when he didn’t, there was often hell to pay.

At the Sprint All-Star Race, he charged into Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Denny Hamlin’s hauler after the race, where he angrily accused Hamlin of putting him in the wall. At Bristol, he dumped Brad Keselowski after getting bumped in a NASCAR Nationwide Series event. In a NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at Kentucky Speedway, Busch angrily confronted race-winner Todd Bodine in victory lane after Bodine said Busch drove him dirty. And then there was the infamous one-finger salute to a NASCAR official at Texas Motor Speedway.

Busch is one of the nominees in the category of “Temper, Temper” in this year’s fifth annual SPEED Performance Awards. To vote for this entry or any of the other nominees, click here:

Fans can vote on nine categories, including the RACER Magazine Rookie of the Year. The remaining categories for fan-selected SPEED Performance Awards include Best Move, Biggest Hit, Best Rivalry, Oops, Best Finish, Best Comeback, Temper Temper and Biggest Upset.

For more info, check out

Tom Jensen is the Editor in Chief of, Senior NASCAR Editor at RACER and a contributing Editor for You can follow him online at and e-mail him at Jensen is the author of “Cheating: The Bad Things Good NASCAR Nextel Cup Racers Do In Pursuit of Speed,” and has appeared on numerous television and radio shows. Jensen is the past President of the National Motorsports Press Association and an NMPA Writer of the Year.