NNS: Busch Makes It Two-For-Two At Homestead

Sprint Cup driver Kyle Busch ended a successful “part-time” season in the Nationwide Series Saturday night by scoring his 13th win of the year in the Ford 300 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Busch missed six of the schedule’s 35 races but still set a Nationwide record for wins in a season.

Busch ran away from fellow Sprint Cup challenger Kevin Harvick over the closing laps Saturday night and won with relative ease.

The victory was the second in two days for Busch at Homestead. He won Friday night’s Truck Series race and will be shooting for three NASCAR wins in a row in Sunday’s season-ending Ford 400 Sprint Cup race.

Following Busch and Harvick in the top five were series champion Brad Keselowski, rookie of the year Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Trevor Bayne.

“This Toyota was fast,” Busch said. “This team put it all together for us over the past three seasons.”

The team concept was particularly important Saturday night as Busch’s win locked up the seasonal owner’s championship for owner Joe Gibbs. Keselowski entered the race having locked up the driver’s championship but was hoping to outpoint Busch Saturday night and win the owner’s championship for Penske Racing.

Busch led 153 of the race’s 200 laps. No one else led more than 17.

Harvick, who will be racing for the Sprint Cup championship Sunday, couldn’t keep pace with Busch over the closing laps Saturday night.

“We were on the verge of being too tight [near the end of the race], and after the last caution we were terrible tight,” Harvick said.

Saturday night’s race was marred by caution after caution, and several contenders were taken out early. The longest green-flag run was a stretch of 32 laps as 11 cautions were recorded.

Mike Hembree is NASCAR Editor for and has been covering motorsports for 28 years. He has written several books on NASCAR, including "NASCAR: The Definitive History of America's Sport" and "Then Tony Said To Junior: The Best NASCAR Stories Ever Told". He is a six-time winner of the National Motorsports Press Association Writer of the Year Award.