Rolen among three Reds players awarded Gold Gloves

NEW YORK (Reuters) - Cincinnati Reds third baseman Scott Rolen snared his eighth Gold Glove award while Colorado's Troy Tulowitzki and Carlos Gonzalez were among the first-time winners when the National League's top defensive players were named on Wednesday.

St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina and Philadelphia Phillies outfielder Shane Victorino each won their third Gold Gloves while Cardinals first baseman Albert Pujols, Reds second baseman Brandon Phillips and Houston Astros outfielder Michael Bourn each won their second.

Pitcher Bronson Arroyo was the third Reds player saluted, claiming his first Gold Glove after getting through the season without an error and turning five double plays.

Victorino earned his third consecutive award after throwing out 11 baserunners from the outfield while committing only two errors in 147 games.

Voting for the annual Gold Glove awards is done by managers and coaches from all 30 Major League Baseball teams who vote for the best defensive player at each position in their league and cannot vote for their own players.

The American League awards were announced Tuesday.

(Reporting by Larry Fine, Editing by Frank Pingue)