CUP: Bayne’s Debut Successful

Trevor Bayne’s 17th-place finish in the AAA Texas 500 on Nov. 7th was the best debut NASCAR Sprint Cup debut finish in a long time and ranks him very high among his peers.

Of the top 43 drivers in the current Sprint Cup points standings, only five finished better in their first race.

Matt Kenseth: 6th, Sept. 20, 1998, Dover International Speedway.

Kevin Harvick: 10th, Aug. 22, 2004, Michigan International Speedway.

Greg Biffle: 13th, April 28, 2002, Auto Club Speedway.

Kevin Harvick: 14th, Feb. 26, 2001, Rockingham Speedway.

Dale Earnhardt Jr..: 16th, Charlotte Motor Speedway 5/31/1999.

The best NASCAR debuts since the Sprint Cup Series began in 1949:

Won first start:

Johnny Rutherford, Daytona International Speedway, 1963.

Jim Roper, Charlotte Speedway, 1949.

Jack White, Hamburg Speedway, 1949.

Won second start:

Jamie McMurray, Charlotte Motor Speedway, 2002.

John Rostek, Arizona State Fairgrounds, 1960.

Won third start:

Kevin Harvick, Atlanta Motor Speedway, 2001.

Dan Gurney, Riverside International Raceway, 1963.