NNS: Ambrose Does Three-peat At Glen

Marcos Ambrose doesn’t need a road map at Watkins Glen International.


Ambrose cruised to his third straight Nationwide Series victory on the 2.45-mile road course Saturday, easily outrunning Joey Logano and Kevin Harvick in the Zippo 200.

Cautions near the end of the race bunched the field behind Ambrose, but his JTG-Daugherty racer had the punch to stay in front each time. “We’re going to try to do the double here this weekend and take one tomorrow, too,” Ambrose said, referring to Sunday’s Heluva Good at the Glen Sprint Cup race.

“We had nothing for the 47 [Ambrose],” Logano said. “He’s the man. He’s pretty good here.”

Logano and Harvick, who have had some tense moments between them this season, raced cleanly for the second spot on the final lap, with Logano taking the position.

Following the top three to the finish were series point leader Brad Keselowski and Kyle Busch.

Keselowski boosted his point advantage to 327 over second-place Carl Edwards, whose Ford was nailed by engine trouble.

The trend toward wild road-course racing in NASCAR series continued early in the race as Jason Leffler sparked a 10-car accident as the tightly bunched field exited turn one on lap 24.

Leffler ran off the left side of the course as he rolled out of turn one. His car re-entered the course in heavy traffic, and contact with Colin Braun in the middle of the group created a moment of chaos.

The hardest contact occurred after Tony Raines stopped in the middle of the track. His car was rear-ended by first-time series driver Billy Johnson, and Johnson’s car wound up under the rear deck of Raines’ vehicle.

By the time the smoke cleared, the incident had enveloped 10 drivers, including Trevor Bayne, Justin Allgaier and Brendan Gaughan.

Leffler admitted that the accident was his fault, but he said Braun should have given him more run to return to the racing surface.

NASCAR put the field under the red flag for 25 minutes to clear the wreckage.


Mike Hembree is NASCAR Editor for and has been covering motorsports for 28 years. He has written several books on NASCAR, including "NASCAR: The Definitive History of America's Sport" and "Then Tony Said To Junior: The Best NASCAR Stories Ever Told". He is a six-time winner of the National Motorsports Press Association Writer of the Year Award.