Crosby, Ovechkin, Sedin named Lindsay finalists

TORONTO (Reuters) - Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby, Washington Capitals left wing Alexander Ovechkin and Vancouver Canucks center Henrik Sedin were named finalists Thursday of the new Ted Lindsay Award as the NHL's most valuable player as voted by their peers.

The same three players were named Hart finalists for the league MVP award a week earlier.

Claiming the first Lindsay Award would add to what has been a spectacular 12 months for Crosby after leading the Penguins to a Stanley Cup last June and scoring the golden goal in Canada's victory over the United States in February's Olympic men's ice hockey final.

He also scored 50 goals for the first time in his NHL career this season to earn a share of the Maurice "Rocket" Richard trophy with Steven Stamkos as the league's top goal scorer with 51.

Sedin became the first Vancouver Canuck to win the Art Ross Trophy for finishing the season as the NHL's top scorer with 112 points while Ovechkin enjoyed another productive campaign scoring 50 goals for the third consecutive season and the fourth time in his five-year career.

The Lindsay Award had been known as the Lester B Pearson Award but was renamed in honor of Ted Lindsay, an all-star forward known for his skill, tenacity, leadership and his role in establishing the original NHL Players' Association.

The winner will be announced on June 23 at the NHL Awards ceremony in Las Vegas.

(Writing by Steve Keating in Detroit; editing by Steve Ginsburg)