TRUCKS: Hornaday Claims Truck Pole

Ron Hornaday Jr. showed ‘em how it’s done yet again, as he captured the pole for Sunday’s O’Reilly Auto Parts 250 at Kansas Speedway.

PDF >QUALIFYING RESULTS: O'Reilly Auto Parts 250 - KANSAS LINK >FINAL PRACTICE: O'Reilly Auto Parts 250 - KANSAS LINK >PRACTICE ONE: O'Reilly Auto Parts 250 - KANSAS

The four-time and defending NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion earned his second series pole of the year and 25th of his storied career by blistering the 1.5-mile Kansas oval with a lap of 169.194miles per hour in his Kevin Harvick Inc. Chevrolet Silverado.

Close on Hornaday’s heels, though, were the ThorSport racing teammates Matt Crafton and Johnny Sauter, who ran 169.062 mph and 168.366 mph, respectively. Aric Almirola was next in Billy Ballew’s Toyota, followed by the Richard Childress Racing Chevy of Austin Dillon.

In positions six through 10 were Todd Bodine, Ricky Carmichael, Mike Skinner, Brian Ickler and series points leader Timothy Peters, who has a margin of 82 points over Almirola headed into race No. 5 of 25 on the 2010 NCWTS schedule.

Sunday’s race takes place at 1 p.m. ET, with live coverage from SPEED beginning with the “NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Setup” at 12:30 p.m.

Tom Jensen is the Editor in Chief of, Senior NASCAR Editor at RACER and a contributing Editor for You can follow him online at and e-mail him at Jensen is the author of “Cheating: The Bad Things Good NASCAR Nextel Cup Racers Do In Pursuit of Speed,” and has appeared on numerous television and radio shows. Jensen is the past President of the National Motorsports Press Association and an NMPA Writer of the Year.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame Grand Opening is set for May 11, 2010. Outdoor Opening Ceremonies are May 11th from 9 to 10 am ET free of charge, open to the public. Outdoor festivities including driver appearances and concerts May 11th from 10 am until 8 pm ET open to the public, free of charge. Tickets to enter the NASCAR Hall of Fame are on sale now at or by calling 877-231-2010. The countdown to the NASCAR Hall of Fame is on! Visit for daily updates about the NASCAR Hall of Fame.