TRUCKS: White Puts Dodge On Pole

If qualifying for Friday night's NextEra Energy Resources 250 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at Daytona International Speedway seemed to take forever — and it did — settling pole position took no time at all.

Jason White, the first of 42 trucks to set a time at the venerable 2.5-mile superspeedway, put his No. 23 SS Green Light Racing Dodge Ram on the pole for Friday's race, which will be televised live on SPEED, beginning at 7:30 p.m. ET with the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Setup.

Once White opened qualifying with a lap of 177.525 miles per hour in his Dodge, he was untouchable for the rest of the evening. The five past Truck Series champions in the field couldn't knock him off the pole. Neither could the women competing or the pair of expatriate Formula 1 drivers entered.

No, this was White's turn to shine, just as he had earlier in the day when he paced the final 2-hour “Happy Hour” practice session.

Qualifying second under the lights at Daytona was the new man on the Kevin Harvick Inc. team, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regular Elliott Sadler, who cranked off a lap of 177.002 mph in his Hunt Brothers Pizza Chevrolet Silverado.

The most stunning performance of the night may have been third-place Austin Dillon, who drives the iconic No. 3 Chevy for his grandfather's team, Richard Childress Racing. Dillon, a rookie and one of's Voices of Speed columnists, was third fast on the night at 176.391 mph.

Then it was Ricky Carmichael in the Monster Energy Chevrolet and four-time NCWTS Champion Ron Hornaday Jr. rounding out the top five.

The second five consisted of Tayler Malsam, Aric Almirola, Mario Gosselin, Johnny Benson and Johnny Sauter.

Failing to qualify were Brent Raymer, Derrike Cope, L.W. Miller, Justin Hobgood, Shane Sieg and Wayne Edwards.

Tom Jensen is the Editor in Chief for, the former Executive Editor of NASCAR Scene and a contributing Editor for He is the author of "Cheating: The Bad Things Good NASCAR Nextel Cup Racers Do In Pursuit of SPEED," and has appeared on television and radio shows to discuss NASCAR racing. Jensen is the past President of the National Motorsports Press Association. Jensen is the 1997 National Motorsports Press Association Writer of the Year and has won numerous national and state awards for news reporting, columns and feature writing. The Answer Man is back at Tom Jensen answers your questions during every race week and looks forward to hearing from you - please e-mail it to