Obama Administration Decides Not to Sign Treaty Banning Land Mines

WASHINGTON -- The Obama administration has decided not to sign an international treaty banning land mines. 

State Department spokesman Ian Kelly says the administration recently completed a review and decided not to change the Bush-era policy. 

More than 150 countries have agreed to the Mine Ban Treaty's provisions to end the production, use, stockpiling and trade in mines. Besides the United States, holdouts include: China, India, Pakistan, Myanmar and Russia

Kelly says the United States would send an observer group of mine experts to a review conference on the treaty in Colombia next week.