American Idol: Lazaro Arbos, Tenna Torres and Devin Velez Make Top 40



Cut the lights. Here we go! 

The top 40 contestants (20 males and 20 females) were chosen Thursday night on “American Idol” and Latinos Tenna Torres and Devin Velez are in the running.

Torres, 28, made a lasting impression on the judges during her first audition and throughout Hollywood week with her powerful vocals.

In early January, she even wowed the judges and made her idol, Mariah Carey, break into tears.

“We are all in awe of you,” Minaj told Torres, while Urban told Torres she was “refreshing” to hear.

Like Torres, Velez also made the cut for his consistency when performing, whether it was in a group or a solo act.

Other “Idol” female hopefuls who will be moving on to the next round include Angela Miller, who surprised the judges with a solid performance of her original song “You Set Me Free.”

“[It’s about] being set free from baggage and the weight that you carry from hard times,” Miller said.

Then there is Candice Miller, who did her rendition on Alicia Keys’ new single, “Girl on Fire,” and nailed it with the judges as well.

Cuban-American singer Lazaro Arbos, who stutters but left the judges in awe, also will move forward in the competition.

Arbos, 21, told the judges that living with such a severe case of stuttering is “like a roller coaster.”

“The things that normal people would think are so easy become so hard for me,” he told the producers of the show.

“We don’t know where my stuttering came from. It’s just something that goes on and no one really knows why.”

Next week, the 40 contenders will have to face new musical challenges during the Las Vegas rounds.

See the full list of the Top 40 “Idol” hopefuls is below:

Adriana Adriana
Amber Holcomb
Angela Miller
Aubrey Cleland
Brandy Hotard
Breanna Steer
Candice Glover
Cristabel Clack
Isabelle [Pasqualone]
Janelle Arthur
Jenny Beth Willis
Jett Hermano
Juliana Chahayed
Kamaria Ousley
Kree Harrison
Melinda Ademi
Rachel Hale
Shubha Vedula
Tenna Torre
Zoanette Johnson

Bryant Tadeo
Burnell Taylor
Charlie Askew
Chris Watson
Cortez Shaw
Curtis Finch Jr.
David Willis
Devin Velez
Elijah Liu
Gurpreet "The Turbinator" Singh Sarin
Jimmy Smith
Johnny Keyser
Josh Holiday
Joshua "JDA" Davila
Kevin Harris
Lazaro Arbos
Mathenee Treco
Nick Boddington
Paul Jolley
Vincent Powell